Vicky Dworkin

A lifelong summer resident of Squam Lake, Vicky Dworkin retired from Hawai‛i to Center Sandwich, NH. She creates glued fabric collage landscapes and other images. A self-taught artist, she decided to take skills she initially used as a children’s librarian and develop them to another level for her own pleasure. She takes her subjects from the natural areas that surround her, using her own photographs as templates for her collage creations.

Artist’s Statement:

By the time I was in middle school, I had learned that I couldn’t “do” art. A failure at drawing at painting, it wasn’t until I became a librarian that I was able to unlock my creative side.  I love playing with color and texture. Collage using fabric and glue is a medium that works well for me.  I was initially inspired by a landscape quilt I saw at the Sandwich Fair.  I don’t sew, but I thought, “I wonder if I could do something like that using glue?”  It took a few years of experimenting before I came up with images I really liked.  I work primarily with recycled materials, seeking out scrap fabrics from thrift shops. I also play with painting old sheets for certain effects.  I learn something new from every piece I make.